What in the world is a Chakra?

You’ve no doubt seen the word “chakra” popping up in various places. Yoga instructors talk about the chakras and you see it online in descriptions of gemstones and crystals. But what exactly is a “chakra”?

Chakra is a Sanskrit* word that means “wheel”. Chakras are considered to be the energy centers of the ethereal** body. You cannot physically see or feel the chakras. However, it is said that these spinning vortices control our life energies and, when active and in balance, they keep us physically and mentally healthy.

Here is a list of the seven primary chakras and their Sanskrit names. They correspond to locations in the physical body and are associated with specific colors. 

Chakra colors

Seven Primary Chakras

  • 1st – the ROOT Chakra (Muladhara) – base of spine – RED

  • 2nd – the SACRAL Chakra (Svadhisthana) – lower abdominal area – ORANGE

  • 3rd – the SOLAR PLEXUS Chakra (Manipura) – solar plexus – YELLOW

  • 4th – the HEART Chakra (Anahata) – heart area – GREEN (also PINK)

  • 5th – the THROAT Chakra (Vishuddha) – throat area – BLUE

  • 6th – the BROW or THIRD EYE Chakra (Ajna) – area between the eyes – INDIGO

  • 7th – the CROWN Chakra (Sahasrara) – crown of the head – VIOLET

Although I’m not a Chakra expert, I love to share things I’ve learned.

Much more to come…

Follow my blog for more about the Chakras, gemstones, handmade jewelry, and other topics near and dear to my heart and, hopefully, yours.

*Sanskrit is an ancient language of India and Hindu scriptures. It is one of India’s twenty-two official languages but is mainly used as a ceremonial language in Hindu religious ceremonies.

**Ethereal is defined as celestial or spiritual.

The information provided on “healing” should not be used to diagnose or treat ailments of the mind or body. Contact a medical professional for help with your physical or psychological needs.

References to get you started:

Guide to Sanskrit pronounciation 
The Chakra Handbook by Sharamon and Baginski (Amazon referral)

Write to me:

What else would you like to know about Chakras? 

Thanks for adding your comments.